### ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

# Town House, ABERDEEN, 13 December 2023

# MINUTE OF SPECIAL MEETING OF ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

Sederunt:

Lord Provost David Cameron, <u>Chairperson;</u> Depute Provost Steve Delaney; and

COUNCILLORS

GILLIAN AL-SAMARAI NURUL HOQUE ALI CHRISTIAN ALLARD ALISON ALPHONSE KATE BLAKE JENNIFER BONSELL MARIE BOULTON DESMOND BOUSE **RICHARD BROOKS** HAZEL CAMERON DONNA CLARK JOHN COOKE NEIL COPLAND WILLIAM CORMIE BARNEY CROCKETT SARAH CROSS DEREK DAVIDSON LEE FAIRFULL EMMA FARQUHAR GORDON GRAHAM ROSS GRANT

MARTIN GREIG DELL HENRICKSON RYAN HOUGHTON MICHAEL HUTCHISON MICHAEL KUSZNIR GRAEME LAWRENCE SANDRA MACDONALD NEIL MacGREGOR ALEXANDER McLELLAN KEN McLEOD CIARAN McRAE M. TAUQEER MALIK DUNCAN MASSEY JESSICA MENNIE ALEX NICOLL MIRANDA RADLEY KAIRIN VAN SWEEDEN LYNN THOMSON SIMON WATSON and IAN YUILL

Lord Provost David Cameron, in the Chair.

The agenda and reports associated with this minute can be found here.

Please note that if any changes are made to this minute at the point of approval, these will be outlined in the subsequent minute and this document will not be retrospectively altered.

### Council Meeting, Wednesday, 13 December 2023

# **REVIEW OF COMMUNITY COUNCIL GOVERNANCE - COM/23/231**

1. With reference to Article 1 of the minute of its meeting of 23 August 2023, the Council had before it a report by the Interim Chief Officer - Governance (Assurance) which presented the responses received during the first stage of public consultation; the Amended Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils, including boundary changes for various Community Councils; and sought approval for the documents to be issued for the second stage of public consultation.

### The report recommended:-

that the Council -

- (a) note the content of the consultation responses and resulting actions as outlined in Appendix 1;
- (b) approve the revisions to the Scheme and guidance documents as set out in Appendices 2 and 3;
- (c) approve the boundary changes for Kincorth and Leggart and Torry Community Councils as outlined in sections 3.5 and 3.6 of the report and shown within Maps 1 and 2 at Appendix 4;
- (d) note that Rosehill and Stockethill Community Council would retain the area at Belmont Gardens, Cedar Court and Belmont Road as outlined in section 3.7 of the report and shown in Map 3 at Appendix 5;
- (e) note that consultation on the boundary proposal between Rosehill and Stockethill and Woodside and Hilton Community Councils would be undertaken in stage two;
- (f) note that during stage one consultation, Bucksburn and Newhills Community Council submitted an amended boundary proposal as outlined in section 3.9 of the report and shown in Map 4 at Appendix 6 and this would form part of stage two consultation;
- (g) note that the second phase of consultation would commence on 18 December 2023 and end on 23 February 2024;
- (h) instruct the Chief Officer Governance to issue a public notice inviting members of the public to comment on the Amended Scheme and associated documents; and
- (i) note that a report providing the outcome of the second stage of public consultation and requesting approval of the amended Scheme and boundaries would be submitted to Council in April 2024.

### The Council resolved:-

to approve the recommendations. - DAVID CAMERON, <u>Lord Provost</u>.